< Mighty Mike Macenko

Long before Steele's became the most traveled championship softball team in the US, Gary Coats and Denny Helmig from Lima Ohio put together a local Ohio team that ultimately became a national power. Steele's Automotive began playing in Ohio tournaments in Springfield, Cleveland, Middletown and Cincinnati and quickly became one of the top teams in the state, challenging, DuBois Chemical, Wilsman Trucking, Hillcrest, Bushelman's, Greater Cincinnati Sports and Worthington Steel.

Steele's Automotive featured players such as Larry Garrard, John Geckle, Denny Helmig, Rick Hasty, Tim and Tony Haley, John Brenner and Henry McBeth and began to travel more nationally and became known as a tough out in every tournament. Steele's became a member of the National Slo Pitch Conference in 1979 and beat teams like Howard's and Ken Sanders and continued to grow in 1980 when they added Joe Young. In 1981, they went all out at the same time they became a sporting goods company, moving away from the automotive sponsorship. That year, Steele's added Chic Downing, Herman Rathman, Al White and Jerry King, finishing 4th in the NSPC and 2nd in the initial ASA Super Division Championship to Triple Crown winner Howard's. 

Also that year, Dave Neale, while managing Nationwide Advertising, became an investor in Steele's Sports and the following year, the team joined the Pro League. After the NSPC and the Pro League disbanded. Dave took over majority ownership of Steele's Sports and moved the company to Grafton, Ohio and began putting together his national powerhouse, combining his professional Cleveland Competitor stars Mike Macenko, Dana Andry, Steve Blanchette, Doc Booker and Jim Bizzell with Cliff Carpenter, Detroit star shortstop Rick Trudeau as well as Milwaukee Schlitz stars Dennis Graser, Phil Higgins and eventually Rick Weiterman. That was the launch of the Steele's Sports dynasty.




Cliff Carpenter - Outfield
Tim Haley - Outfield
Henry McBeth - 1st Base
Rick Hasty - Catcher
John Geckle - Infield
John Brenner - Infield
Mike Bolen 3B,!B
Greg Whitlock SS
Henry McBeth
Rick Hasty
Rob O"Leath
Coach Okulovich
Coach Tom Pluto
Bat Boy Boo McBeth



Charles Wright
Mike Macenko
Doug Roberson
Mighty Joe Young
Dennis Graser 1B
Dan Griffin OF
Mike Bolen 3B,!B
Greg Whitlock SS
Kenny "Kong" Loeri
Rick Weiterman
Doc Booker
Henry McBeth
Greg "Bull" Furhman
Scott Virkus
Craig Elliott
Rick Hasty
Rob O"Leath
Coach Okulovich
Coach Tom Pluto
Bat Boy Boo McBeth


In 1992 Dave Neale and Denny Helmig decided to have another softball team.. They knew it was the best way to promote softball especially with Stlle's line of softball bats.

Joe Albert - Coach
Steve Craven - Outfield
Scott Virkus
Weelbarger - Coach
Kerry Everette - Indield
Mike Macenko - 1b-DH-C
Ernie Montgomery - Anywhere
John Meyers - Infield
KMonty Tucker - Pitch, 1b
Jason McCrae
DShawn Keene - Infiekd - SS
Jacque Millier - Infield
Ken Scobee - Infield
Boney Jeffers - Shortstop
Jim Powers - Outfield
Butch Ovens - Pitcher
Tot Powers - Infield
Randy Kortokrax - Infield
Scott Elliott - Pitch-Outfield
Danny Williams - Outfield-C
Rod Hughes - Outfield
Phil Jobe - Oufield - Pitch
Melvin Malernee - Infield
Derek Oliver - Outfield
Todd Martin - Infield-SS
Doug Burns - Pitcher
Doug Kissane-Outfield
Ed Starcher - Infield,Outfield
Silven Little - Catcher